Dhamma talk on Buddha Day celebration on May 7, 2017













Summary of the May 7, 2017 Dhamma talk is the following:

In Buddhism, there are four kinds of (Sukha) bliss or contentment:

  1. The enlightenment of the Buddha is blissful because the Buddha gives us wisdom or light to see what is wrong & what is right, which way leads to woeful lives & which way leads to not woeful lives, and which way is to continue the Samsara (cycle of rebirths) & which way is to Nirvana or the permanent cessation of Samsara (cycle of rebirths).
  2. The chance to listen and practice the Buddha’s teachings and to become a better person is blissful because the teachings show us a way to abstain from doing harmful things to ourselves as well as others and to do good deeds mentally, verbally and physically.
  3. All people live in harmony and at peace is blissful. It is very clear that if people from all walks of live love and cherish each other and live in harmony, there will not be any kind of war.
  4. Burning out all Kilesa (mental impurity) is blissful. Kilesas are mental states that cloud the mind and manifest in unwholesome actions. Fire is to be extinguished by cold water. Anger is be dealt with tolerance, loving kindness and compassion. Greed is to be cured by giving (donation). Delusion is to be eliminated by wisdom. Doing merit brings good and agreeable results. For example, giving (donation) happens only if you overcome your stinginess and attachment to the item you are giving away. You burn out your stinginess and attachment to the item. In other word, you burn out your Kilesa. Giving tolerance, loving kindness and compassion to others happens only if you extinguish your anger, which is a Kilesa. Similarly, wisdom to see things clearly and correctly happens only if you eliminate your delusion which is a Kilesa. .


Sadhu! Sadhu! Sadhu!


May all beings see Dhamma and be peaceful!

Posted in News & Events.